Projects/Oxygen/Sound Theme Naming Specification

< Projects‎ | Oxygen
Revision as of 18:28, 30 July 2007 by Npovoa (Talk | contribs)

Jump to: navigation, search
  • NOTE - This section is under HEAVY development. Keep it as an orphaned page for the time being.

Contents

Overview

Sound is an important element used to communicate with users. It is important, then, that there be a unified and simplified way of organizing sounds. It should not be forgotten that the sounds should integrate with the looks of KDE4, they need to blend in.

Context

The contexts for a sound theme are (these are more or less placeholders as this schema is sorted out):

Table 1. Sound Theme Contexts
Name Description Directory
System Events Sounds which are generally used to notify the user of events relating to the system, ie: startup, warning dialogs, etc system
User Interface Events Sounds associated with the desktop environment, such as minimize, shade, or kicker events ui
Misc. Application Events Sounds associated with application events, such as a successful cd burn, which don't fit within other categories application

System Events

A list for now

  • Network events
  • Critical Stop
  • Default Beep
  • Show Toolbar
  • System Notification
Table 3. System Events
Name Description Type Filename
Startup during startup Adhoc sys.log.in.ogg
Shutdown during system shutdown Adhoc sys.log.out.ogg
Hibernate Cumputer Hibernates Informational
Standby Cumputer enters standby mode Informational
Logon User Logon Informational
Logoff User Logoff Informational
Logon Error Wrong Username or Password Error
Critical Error Critical error occurred Error sys.error.oog
Information General information pops-up Informational sys.messagem.ogg
Print Error Error before or wile printing Error sys.error.print.ogg
Question Asked Question is beeing asked Question sys.question.ogg
Serious Error Serious Error forcing app to quit Error sys.app.error.serious.ogg
Warning Warning pops up Attention sys.warning.ogg
No Matching Completion No match in list (e.g. Search) Informational sys.list.match.no.ogg
Something Special in App App returns a special message Informational sys.app.special.ogg
End of List End of list reached Informational sys.list.end.ogg
More then one match Multiple matches in list Informational sys.list.match.multiple.ogg
Error in app App returns an error Error sys.app.error.ogg
Very serious error Very serious Error forcing app to quit Error sys.app.error.serious.very.ogg
Cannot open file Can't open one or more files Error sys.file.open.foes.ogg
Trash Emptied Empty Trash Attention sys.trash.emptied.ogg

User Interface Events

Desktop UI

Table 3. Desktop UI
Name Description Filename
Minimize
Minimize to Tray
Maximize
Restore
Restore from Tray
Shade Up
Shade Down
Icon Hover
Icon Select

Menu UI

Table 3. Menu UI
Name Description Filename
Menu Button Select Selecting the K Menu menu-button-select
Menu Browse Browsing through the menu, on a new menu item hover menu-browse
Menu Item Select Selecting a menu item menu-item-select

Application Level Events

Communication Events

Table 3. Communication Events
Name Description Type Filename
New Email New email message is received Informational im.new.mail.ogg
Incomming Message New instant message is received Informational im.msg.new.ogg
Outgoing Message Message sent Informational im.msg.out.ogg
Nudge Nudge Received Adhoc im.nudge.ogg
Highlighted message received Message with highlight word received Attention im.highlight.msg.ogg
Low Priority Message Low priority message received Informational im.low.priority.ogg
Error Connecting Error during connection Error im.error.on.connection.ogg
New Message Alert New chat started with incomming message Attention im.msg.new.ogg
User Authorization Action Authorization Clearance Question im.user.auth.ogg
Can't connect Can't Connect to Service Error im.cant.connect.ogg
Network Problems Network problem identified Error im.network.problems.ogg
Contact Online Contact is now online Informational im.contact.in.ogg
Contact Offline Contact goes offline Informatonal im.contact.out.ogg
Call Received Incomming call notification Attention
Join Request Received A Join request is received Informational
noframe
 
Note
These sounds can and should be used among all KDE communication applications, consider them generic and not application dependent.

Miscellaneous and Cross-Category Events

  • Successful (cd burn, file transfer, etc. Possibly separate these)

Hardware Events

Table 3. Hardware Events
Name Description Filename
Battery Charging
Running on AC
Low Battery Alarm
Critical Battery Alarm
Device Connected
Device Disconnected
Device Failed to Connect
Print sent to Queue
Print Complete

References


KDE® and the K Desktop Environment® logo are registered trademarks of KDE e.V.Legal